For years, a DUI/DWI was handled like a routine traffic violation. Peoples attitudes have changed,and driving under the influence or while intoxicated is now treated as a serious criminal offense.
In the state of Maryland, you can be convicted of a DWI if your blood alcohol content is.08 % or greater, or if your blood alcohol content is .07% or lower you maybe charge with a DUI. The blood alcohol content limit is even lower for commercial drivers and drivers under the age of 21.
Whats the Difference Between DUI and DWI?
The terms DUI and DWI both refer to the act of operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or other substances. DUI is an acronym for “driving under the influence.” DWI is also an acronym for “driving while intoxicated.
In the State of Maryland DUI/DWI Penalties Are Serious
A first-time DUI/DWI conviction usually results in severe penalties. In the stae of Maryland, you may be subject to some or all of the following penalties for a first offense:
- Time in Jail of 12 months or less
- A fine of up to one thousand dollars
- Impounding of your vehicle
- An ignition lock installed in your vehicle that prevents you from driving if you’ve been drinking
- Probation or suspension of your drivers license up to 60 days.
- Revocation of your driver’s license or obtaining 8 points on your license
- Completion of Alcohol treatment programs and or Substance abuse classes
Second, and Third offenses of DUI/DWI can incur additional Penalties such as:
- Up to 2 – 3 years of jail time
- DUI up to $2,000 in fines and DWI up to $3,000 in fines
- Revocation of your drivers license
- Suspension of your drivers license anywhere from 60 to 120 days
- Community Service and Alcohol treament programs